Skip to content

Art and Other Things

Interesting art pieces from around the world

Today, at school we had short assembly which I found really interesting… I’m sure most of my classmates could agree that it was… strange… Or maybe it was just me.

The assembly started out with the college counselor telling us that if we wanted to go to a top college, we better push our grades up and be in the first decile. If we’re not, we could just forget about attending an ivy league, or even a good college. We were encouraged to ask questions regarding our GPA, and how it would affect our chances of getting in to college, and how it works.

After that, two other teachers put together a presentation that was meant to tell us to relax, and that grades were not important, if we were learning. Learning was the most important thing. It did not matter if you did not have all A’s. If you learned something and got something out of it, then you’re fine! You don’t necessarily need good grades.

I don’t know if you guys do, but do you see the irony here? We’re supposed to get 4.0s and get into the first decile, but we shouldn’t worry too much about having good grades as long as we’re learning. A little bit contradicting no? I actually didn’t think about this though until my math teacher quickly mentioned it during class. Now that I think about it – a lot – it’s… really strange!

In my opinion, I think it’s good to be a little bit stressed about your grades. That way, you can push yourself to do better, and study harder, thus learning during the process! So… to stress or not to stress?!

Picture Credit: http://twoguysarguing.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/report-card.jpg

Tags: , , , ,

